Twitter privacy settings are explained


Twitter is one of the most open social media platforms on the web, so it may be easier to ignore privacy settings. Of course, Twitter does not offer the level of granular control, such as Facebook. But it has some decent options to control what other users can see and what level of access they have to you.

Here's a quick fix on Twitter's privacy settings, and what they mean. Note that these will be sorted by browser version rather than mobile application, but the settings are the same among the devices.

Privacy

This is the obvious space for privacy control, which is included in the "Privacy and Security" section of Settings.

The first and most obvious regulation is the "privacy of Tweet". This allows you to set your entire account private. If you do, then you must approve all new fans before they can see your tweets. Tweets from protected accounts can only be shown by their followers and will not appear on third-party search engines like Google (excluding third party appraisals, but we will return to it shortly).

The next is the "tweet site", which varies between devices. In browsers, this means that a general location will be attached to your tweet, indicating where you were when you tweeted. On mobile devices, the option is called "exact location" and allows Twitter to access your GPS to use, as the name implies, your exact location. In both cases, Twitter can use your location to serve you local ads. You also have the "Delete Site Information" option already collected by Twitter.

The next three settings, "Discoverable", "Photo Markup" and "Twitter for Groups" can be taken as a whole, since they do about the same thing. They let you control how many other users can engage you. "Crawl" checks if others can find you by searching for your email address or password. The "Photo Label" lets you specify who can point you to the photos: everyone, followers or none. Twitter for groups – which allows users to create groups of users who have access to their password-free account – gives you the same choices.

Finally, you'll find your settings that control Instant Messaging. From here, you can select "Get it from anyone"And turn on Read the evidence. Both are basically what they are listening to, although we recommend leaving the previous choice with special needs unless you have a good reason to turn it on – DM DMs can be strange. In the mobile app, you also have the "Quality filter"Which allows Twitter to filter messages that are of lower quality, although it does not specify how it considers DMs to be of poor quality.

Security

These settings are more about controlling sensitive tweets, both what you create and what you see. In this case, "sensitive" refers to those that contain images or violent videos or adult content. Twitter allows such tweets, although "overly horrific means"And anything depicting the moment of death of a person is subject to removal.

Twitter allows users to block sensitive media and point out something they are going to publish as sensitive to this section. For example, security is where you find the option to block sensitive searches from tweets as well as blocked or disabled accounts – meaning these two options together are the closest thing Twitter needs to do in a safe search .

You can also select "Show sensitive content"Making this kind of medium visible by default You can also"Highlight the media that you have stated to contain material that may be sensitive"If this is the things that regularly tweet.

Personalization & Data

This page, which is accessible from the Privacy and Security menu, lets you control how much of your information is allowed to use Twitter. Most of the options are quite self-explanatory – personalized ads or the exchange of your data with Twitter business partners, for example.

A less clear option is "Personalization based on your devices". Essentially, this checks whether Twitter can use data it collects from a device to personalize another and integrates data from third-party sites with Twitter integration. If you enable this option, Twitter can use this information to show you ads based on things you've done on other devices and sites. Here's an example:

… if you usually use Twitter for Android at the same time and from the same network where you browse sports sites with built-in Tweets on a computer, we may conclude that your Android device and laptop are related and later suggest Tweets about sports, and sports related advertising on your Android device.

Other settings you need to know

Although they are not closely related to privacy and security, there are a few other settings that you should always be aware of for your own security.

For example, you should now review Apps & Data. Apps, as the name implies, show you the applications that access your Twitter account, such as Instagram, Facebook, Buffer or IFTTT. It also shows you the information that each application has access to. If you are the type of person to grant these permissions without understanding (there is no judgment, we have all hit the "Allow" or "Yes" button without reading the warning at least once), it can help you make a spring cleaning of applications every time at a time.

Devices show all the devices you've connected to your account – including smartphones and desktop browsers. You can disconnect from any of these sessions from the device you use to view the settings.

The other setting will be "Blocked Accounts," which is still quite self-evident. You will find a list of all people you have blocked from Twitter, which can help you if you are a serial blocker and want to keep track of such things.

Any other steps you can take to keep a hold on your Twitter account? Let us know in the comments.

Read below:

Twitter regrets this whole issue of "Kill All Jews"